Marketplace 8 min read

Marketplace product image requirements, in one table

Every major marketplace’s image rules side by side — background, pixel size, how much of the frame the product must fill, accepted formats — each row linked to the official source and dated.

OR
OmniRoom Team
September 19, 2026

Every marketplace publishes its image requirements somewhere, and every marketplace publishes them differently. One states a minimum in pixels, the next a minimum for the longest side only; one says "pure white", another says "white or light"; one enforces the rules automatically at upload and another leaves them to a human reviewer who may or may not care this week.

If you sell the same catalogue across four channels, you are reconciling four documents in your head. This page reconciles them once, in one table, with the official source linked on every row and the date we last opened it.

Two things we will not do here. We will not restate a requirement we could not find on the marketplace's own seller documentation — the cell says not stated instead, because "we could not verify this" is more useful to you than a confident guess. And we will not quietly let this page rot: each row carries its own verification date, so you can see exactly how old a claim is before you act on it.

Marketplace Main image background Size Product fills Formats Images Source
AmazonUS & UK — identical wording Pure white (RGB 255,255,255) min 500 px longest side
1000 px recommended
max 10000 px
85%+ JPEG, TIFF, PNG, GIF 1–— Amazon Seller Central — Product image guide (G1881)
verified 2026-09-19
Wayfair no rule published min 1000 px shortest side
2000 px recommended
not stated not stated 2–— Wayfair — Imagery 101
verified 2026-09-19
Etsy no rule published min 635 px longest side
2000 px recommended
not stated JPEG, GIF, PNG, SVG, HEIC 1–20 Etsy Help — Requirements and best practices for images
verified 2026-09-19
eBay.com & .co.uk no rule published min 500 px longest side
1600 px recommended
≤ 12 MB
not stated JPEG, PNG, GIF, TIFF, BMP, WEBP, HEIC, AVIF 1–24 eBay — Adding pictures to your listings
verified 2026-09-19
Shopifyyour own store, not a marketplace no rule published 2048 px recommended
max 5000 px
≤ 20 MB
not stated PNG, JPEG, PSD, TIFF, BMP, GIF, SVG, HEIC, WEBP 1–250 Shopify Help — Product media types
verified 2026-09-19
Bol.comNL & BE White or plain min 500 px shortest side
1200 px recommended
max 6000 px
≤ 10 MB
not stated not stated 1–— bol.com Partnerplatform — image rules
verified 2026-09-19
AllegroPL Pure white (RGB 255,255,255) min 400 px longest side
max 2560 px
not stated JPEG, PNG, WEBP 1–10 Allegro Help — thumbnail rules
verified 2026-09-19
OTTO MarketDE Pure white (RGB 255,255,255) min 500 px shortest side
1000 px recommended
max 4500 px
≤ 25 MB
85–95% JPEG, PNG 1–10 OTTO Market — Onboarding Guide (January 2026)
verified 2026-09-19
Google Merchant Centergates Shopping ads and free listings White or plain min 100 px shortest side
1500 px recommended
≤ 16 MB
75–90% JPEG, WEBP, PNG, GIF, BMP, TIFF 1–11 Google Merchant Center — image_link specification
verified 2026-09-19
B&QUK — Kingfisher Merchant Hub no rule published min 500 px shortest side
≤ 10 MB
not stated JPEG, PNG 1–9 Kingfisher Merchant Hub — attribute guide
verified 2026-09-19

Main image rules, per marketplace.

  • Amazon: No text, logos, watermarks, borders or extra props — Zoom only switches on from 1,000 px. A photorealistic AI-generated person in the image must carry the contains-synthetic-performer XMP tag. No maximum file size is published.
  • Wayfair: not stated — Wayfair publishes almost nothing openly — the real supplier standards sit behind the Partner Home login. The widely repeated "2000 px, pure white, no watermarks" appears on no Wayfair-owned page, so it is not on this one either.
  • Etsy: not stated — Transparent PNGs are not supported and render black — the one rule that ruins a cut-out furniture packshot. Etsy asks for negative space around the product so it can crop, which is the opposite of the 85% rule elsewhere. Files over 1 MB may fail to upload.
  • eBay: No text, logos, watermarks, borders or extra props — White is guidance, not a rule: eBay says a darker background may work better for shiny or reflective items. Borders, added text and watermarks of any type are prohibited. eBay publishes no zoom pixel threshold.
  • Shopify: not stated — Shopify imposes no editorial rules — it is your store. The only hard limits are technical: 20 MB, 25 megapixels, and an aspect ratio between 100:1 and 1:100. The 250 cap covers images, video and 3D models combined.
  • Bol.com: No text, logos, watermarks, borders or extra props — Since 1 July 2025 bol states it no longer enforces its image guidelines, except the ban on self-promotion. The specs still describe what performs — zoom needs 1,200 px — but a non-compliant image is unlikely to be rejected. Minimum file size is 30 KB.
  • Allegro: No text, logos, watermarks, borders or extra props — The white rule applies to the thumbnail only — gallery images may use any background. Furniture sets, and used or refurbished items, are exempt from the white background altogether. Gallery minimum is 500 px, thumbnail 400 px. 16 gallery images on a business account. From 2 August 2026 AI-generated or AI-modified images must be declared.
  • OTTO Market: not stated — The only marketplace here with an upper bound on product size, and the reason is a rule nobody else has: a continuous white border is mandatory on all four sides. The main image must be a cut-out of the product alone. 4:3 is the recommended ratio. Small, narrow products are exempt from the fill range.
  • Google Merchant Center: No text, logos, watermarks, borders or extra props — Not a marketplace, but it decides whether your products can be advertised at all. The minimum is 100 px today (250 px apparel) and rises to 500 × 500 px for every product on 31 January 2027 — the separate apparel threshold disappears. AI-generated images must keep their IPTC tags.
  • B&Q: No text, logos, watermarks, borders or extra props — B&Q never specifies a background colour, and its 85% frame-fill rule sits under the additional images, not the primary one. The primary image must show the complete product with no extra objects, text or graphics. Images are supplied as public URLs rather than uploaded, and each slot has a prescribed camera angle.

Which rules are enforced automatically, and which are not

This distinction matters more than the numbers, and no marketplace explains it clearly.

Enforced at upload, by software. Pixel dimensions, file format, file size, and on several marketplaces the pure-white background check. These fail immediately and visibly: the upload is rejected, or the listing sits in an error state. They are also the easy ones — they are pure measurement, which is why we built a free checker that measures them in your browser before you upload anything.

Enforced later, by a human or a sweep. Text and logos on the main image, watermarks, props that are not part of the product, misleading colour. These pass upload cleanly and surface weeks later as a suppressed listing, usually on your best-selling SKU, usually without a useful explanation. Nothing automated catches them reliably — including our checker, which says so rather than pretending.

Never enforced, but costly anyway. Recommended sizes. A marketplace that accepts 1000 px and recommends 2000 px is telling you where zoom stops working. Nobody will reject the listing; shoppers simply do not zoom, and a shopper who cannot inspect a sofa's fabric does not buy the sofa.

The rule that fails most furniture listings

The requirement that the product must fill roughly 85% of the frame is the one furniture sellers break most often, and it is the least intuitive of the set.

Marketplaces measure the bounding box — the smallest rectangle containing the product — as a share of the image area. For a compact, roughly square product this matches what your eye expects. For furniture it often does not:

  • A tall, narrow bookcase in a square frame can fill the height completely and still occupy well under 85% of the area, because the sides are empty.
  • An L-shaped sectional has a large bounding box but little ink inside it. It usually passes, and it looks sparse.
  • A dining set photographed as a group is measured as one bounding box, which is why group shots pass the fill rule and then fail a different one, for showing multiple products on the main image.

The practical fix is the same in every case: crop tighter, keep a small consistent margin, and shoot the product square-on so the bounding box and the product actually agree.

“White background” usually means one exact colour

Where a marketplace specifies pure white it means RGB 255,255,255, and it checks. A studio sweep photographed without enough light lands somewhere around RGB 240–250 — which looks white on your monitor, looks white next to the product, and fails.

Three things push a background off pure white without anyone noticing:

  • Underexposure. The sweep is lit for the product, not for the paper behind it.
  • JPEG compression. Edges between a dark product and a white ground get smeared into grey pixels, which is also why a background can pass in the corners and fail near the product.
  • Colour profile conversion. An image exported in Adobe RGB and interpreted as sRGB shifts, sometimes just enough.

The check is one you can do in seconds: open the image, sample a corner pixel, and read the value. Or drop it into the checker, which samples the whole border and tells you whether the backdrop is pure white, plain but not white, or a scene.

The change already on the calendar: 31 January 2027

One dated change is worth planning for now, because it affects every seller who advertises and it has already been announced.

From 31 January 2027, Google Merchant Center requires every product image to be at least 500 × 500 pixels, in every category. Today the floor is 100 × 100 for most products and 250 × 250 for apparel; the separate apparel threshold disappears entirely. Images below the new minimum stop being eligible for Shopping ads and free listings.

If you sell furniture this is unlikely to bite on your hero images, which are already well above it. Where it bites is the long tail: legacy SKUs, supplier-provided thumbnails, swatch and accessory images, and anything migrated from an older platform at whatever size it happened to be. Those are exactly the images nobody looks at until the disapprovals arrive.

Two other dated items sit alongside it, and both matter specifically if you use AI imaging. Amazon requires a photorealistic AI-generated person in an image to carry the contains-synthetic-performer XMP tag. Allegro requires AI-generated or AI-modified images to be declared from 2 August 2026. Neither is about image quality; both are disclosure rules, and both are new enough that most sellers have not read them.

What actually fails, measured on real supplier images

We ran a set of real, supplier-provided furniture packshots — the kind a reseller receives from a manufacturer and uploads unchanged — through the same measurement the checker uses. The results were not what we expected.

Every one of them passed on the things sellers worry about. Clean pure-white backdrops, 1200 × 1200 pixels, correct file type. And the product filled 14%, 28% and 34% of the frame respectively, against a requirement of 85% on Amazon and 85–95% on OTTO.

This is the failure mode that hides. Resolution problems are obvious — the image looks soft. A background that is not quite white gets flagged at upload. But a product photographed small in the frame looks completely fine, passes every check a person would think to do, and quietly fails the one rule nobody measures by eye.

It is also the easiest to fix, because it needs no reshoot: the original file is large enough that cropping in gives you both a tighter frame and a compliant one. The only thing you need is to know it is happening.

How to keep up when the requirements change

Image requirements change quietly. There is rarely an announcement; a help page is edited and listings uploaded the following week behave differently.

Three habits catch it early:

  • Watch the rejection reasons, not the rules. A sudden cluster of rejections on images you have uploaded successfully for a year is the signal a spec moved.
  • Re-check before a bulk upload, not after. Checking one representative image before pushing 300 costs a minute and saves a re-export.
  • Keep a master at higher resolution than any marketplace asks for. When a minimum rises — and minimums only ever rise — you re-export instead of re-shooting.

That last point is the cheapest insurance in this whole document. Every minimum in the table above has gone up over the past decade and none has come down.

Check an image against every row in this table

The checker measures dimensions, format, file size, background and product fill in your browser. Nothing is uploaded and no account is needed.

Open the image checker

Related: Wayfair image requirements in detail · Shopify furniture product pages · AI staging vs 3D rendering

See what your products could look like

Upload a furniture photo and generate professional lifestyle scenes, multi-angle views, and product videos. Start with 3 free downloads.

Try OmniRoom Free

© 2026 OmniRoom AI OÜ. All rights reserved.